Versioning protects your data by preserving all versions of objects and preventing permanent deletion. When objects are deleted, they are “soft deleted” with delete markers, allowing you to restore previous versions and recover data. After creating a versioned bucket with Terraform, use rclone to manage versioned objects and delete markers.
Example usage
Schema
Required
bucket (String) The bucket on which to enable or suspend versioning.
Optional
Nested Schema for versioning_configuration
Required:
status (String) Versioning state of the bucket. Valid values: Enabled, Suspended, or Disabled. Disabled should only be used when creating or importing resources that correspond to unversioned S3 buckets since the S3 API does not allow setting an Enabled/Suspended bucket to Disabled.
Import
Import is supported using the following syntax:
Last modified on September 29, 2026